Reichsadler or Parteiadler…?

I AM NOT A NAZI. Let’s make sure that fact is straight before you read this post. I have nothing against the Jewish people, & I am not a Nazi. This post has nothing to do with praising Nazism or Hitler or anything associated with it. But I am interested in history & little details. After Hitler was elected as Chancellor in 1933, the Nazi Party established a totalitarian dictatorship in Germany. It was an extreme right-winged group which killed many innocent people.

Today, I was browsing through Wikipedia, first I was researching about ‘lock‘ because the key for the lock on my desk cabinet seemed to be missing. Then I clicked a hyperlink which lead me to ‘security‘, which lead me to ‘vault‘, which lead me to ‘bank‘, which lead me to ‘Bank of Switzerl&‘, which lead me to ‘Euro‘, which lead me to the ‘European Union‘, which lead me to ‘Euro coins‘, which lead me to ‘Germany‘, which lead me to ‘Munich‘, which lead me to ‘Nazi‘, which finally lead me to this post’s purpose, the ‘Reichsadler‘. Yes, I have no life.

Wikipedia clicks: lock ➝ security ➝ vault ➝ bank ➝ Bank of Switzerl& ➝ Euro ➝ European Union ➝ Euro coins ➝ Germany ➝ Munich ➝ Nazi ➝ Reichsadler.

So what is a Reichsadler? For those who do not know, it’s the historic national insignia used by Germany (since the heraldic Roman Aquila to the German Empire, Weimar Republic, & Nazi Germany). It literally means ‘Eagle of the Empire’. Yes, you might recognise this:

It is the current coat of arms of Germany.

The Reichsadler can be traced all the way back to its usage by the Holy Roman Empire for its banners. For then, eagle was symbol of Imperial power & widely used amongst imperial states. It was incorporated in reference to the Roman usage. The Reichsadler first appeared in the 9th century on Charlemagne’s banner.

Coat of Arms of the Hohenstaufen emperors 1155 – 1197
Coat of Arms of the Holy Roman EmpireBanner of the Holy Roman Emperors from 1433Coat of Arms of the Austrian Empire 1804 – 1867
Reichsadler of the German Empire 1888 – 1918
Reichsadler of the Weimar Republic

Although it was used from the ancient mediaeval times, it certain is very German. In 1935, under Hitler’s orders, the Reichsadler became the official national insignia of Nazi Germany (with a swastika). The Parteiadler, on the other h&, means ‘Eagle of the Party’. For some reason, it was created to serve as the emblem of the Nazi Party. The main difference between the two eagles is the direction of which the eagles are looking. Left = Reichsadler, right = Parteiadler. How fascinating!

The Reichsadler

The Pateiadler


About this entry